free thought

Archangelnamed
Theist
User is offlineOffline
free thought

OK, let me preface this topic with a confession:  I have no college experience with philsophy or psychology so please spare me any big,  impressive, and overly verbose replies.  I consider myself to be a reasonably intelligent person but since I am not officially schooled in these topics I can spend as much time finding out the meaning of terms used as I do holding a reasonable discussion.

Anyway, my question is this:  How do you decide what is "free thinking" and what is not?  Atheists and other non-Christians constantly refer to themselves as "free-thinkers" but I believe they are wrong.  Psychologically and physically we are trained from conception by our surroundings as to what we should think and how we should behave.  Even if it appears that you are a proverbial "black sheep" in your family, I do not believe that anyone can be a completely "free" thinker.  You are given information on a multitude of levels throughout your entire life.  You have the ability to use that information in whatever way you choose but it is still based on that information.  How, then, can anyone claim to have genuinely "free thought"?

-Michael

"We did not follow cleverly invented stories..."
2 Peter 1:16
"Therefore, since I myself have carefully investigated everything from the beginning, it seemed good also to me to write an orderly account for you..."
Luke 1:3

hellfiend666
Rational VIP!
hellfiend666's picture
User is offlineOffline
"Free thought", and "free