Ok, its more political than theological

The_Deception
Theist
The_Deception's picture
User is offlineOffline
Ok, its more political than theological

A simple question, if a secular/atheist government was put in the place of the current one (say American gov. for safetys sake Sticking out tongue) would christians, churches etc be preyed upon, discriminated against etc. Please don't now say well atheists have been persecuted so yes to make it even (hopefully you won't!) because remember, christians are still persecuted across the world in various countries.

Anyway, any answers would be most helpful because I have been wondering this for YEARS now!!!

pariahjane
pariahjane's picture
User is offlineOffline
I'm not an expert on

I'm not an expert on politics but this is my opinion.  The idea of separation of church and state benefits all parties involved, theist and non-theist.  I don't think that any religious organization should be preyed upon or discriminated against, as long as what they preached wasn't harmful to others.

Technically, having a secular government would have nothing to do with any religious institutions.  They would be left alone.  

If god takes life he's an indian giver

latincanuck
atheist
latincanuck's picture
User is offlineOffline
    I would have to say

I would have to say it would depend on the society and it's history with the religious side. In canada, for the most part our goverment has been secular, yet neither side really attacks the other side (at least not right out) But the US that's a tricky question, i don't think it would but then again you never know.

The_Deception
Theist
The_Deception's picture
User is offlineOffline
Thats kinda what I wanted