Let's start with an apology . . .

chamathman
User is offlineOffline
Let's start with an apology . . .

I’m a Christian school teacher in southwest Virginia and your group was brought to my attention through a story my local TV station did about your "Blasphemy Challenge." I’ve never written you or had any personal contact with you or your group, but I want to start with an apology. Based on some of the discussions threads I’ve perused from your site, I want to apologize on behalf of rational Christians (an oxymoron to you, I know) for the following (the posts I refer to I read in your radio show mail bag):

1. People who try to deduce universal statements of reality from the lyrics of pop songs [I mean, John Lennon? Come on!] (‘Adam’ on 11-29-06)

2. People who try to convince an atheist that God exists because of their own personal experience (‘All I want is to be loved..Is that wrong?’ beginning 11-3-06, and MANY others)

3. People who try to convince a philosophical materialist that God is directly responsible for healing people (same)

4. People who say "I’d rather live this life believing in some myth than live without Jesus!’ (‘lins’ on 9-29-06 and undated thread titled ‘Letter from a friend who holds on to his theism’) (OK, this one actually makes me mad!, Marx was certainly right about some people’s faith)

5. People who say "I could defend my beliefs logically and all that jazz . . ." then by their own admission get irrational instead (same)

6. People who basically say that not believing in God is ‘bad manners’ (‘Yes I am De’Sha so keep HATTIN ON ME!’ 10-13-06)

7. People who try to defend the existence of God by using enough profanity and ad hominem to make a sailor blush (‘hopekill design’ 5-2-06 and, unfortunately, others)

8. People who try to convince an atheist that God exists using the Bible (‘Rebecca! At the Disco’ 7-31-06)