'A' Prefix

phooney
phooney's picture
User is offlineOffline
'A' Prefix

On a Catholic forum I have been debating on, they just won't quit with the idea that Atheism means a positive claim that there are no gods.  What do  you think of their argument:

Phooney:They are related in their common usage, it is true. However, even your dictionary hints at their meanings in wider applications.

As _A_ has already pointed out, Atheist merely means without belief in a god, due to the "A" in front of "theist", which negates the "theist" part of the word.

You'll notice that Agnostic also has an "A" in front of it, this time negating "Gnostic", which is derived from some old word(s) regarding knowledge.

Here's what this means for all of us today:

Agnostic Atheist: "I have no knowledge of a God, and I don't believe in a God"
Gnostic Atheist: "I know there is no God"
Agnostic Theist: "I have no knowledge of a God, but I believe in a God anyway"
Gnostic Theist: "I know there is a God"

So, just recapping "atheism" and "theism" are 2 different ranges on a scale of belief, "agnosticism" and "gnosticism" are two different ranges on a scale of knowledge.

Hastrman:Wrong.

The A- prefix in Greek means None or Not, in a sense contingent on the Greek understanding of binary logic. Acosmicism means "no universe," not "lack of a belief about the universe"; Agnosticism means "denying knowledge," not "lacking an opinion about knowledge". Atheism, then, is "No-God-ism", the position that there is no God, not, "not being a God-ist-ism". Sanskrit, which is closer to Greek than Latin is and has the same prefix, has words like "Advaita", which means "not dualist," not "lack of a belief about dualism", and "Anatman" which means "no soul," not "lack of a belief about souls".

What many self-described atheists think is irrelevant; they're using the word wrong.