My mother's hypocrisy

DMCheese
DMCheese's picture
User is offlineOffline
My mother's hypocrisy

So, my mom found out I was an atheist. She asked me why, now, I am NOT good at articulating thoughts when put on the spot, and even worse at standing up for myself, it took me forever to express my own opinions because I often hold those contrary to most of the people I know. So when I said I had trouble finding the right words to explain it, she said, "I honestly don't think that you've thought this through" yet when I asked her why she did believe in god, she said "I've seen too many things not to" and when I told her that basically was the same way I had concluded there was not god, she just got kind of prissy and repeated that she didn't think I'd thought it through. I told her that her belief didn't make sense, and she pulled the bullshit "That's why it's called faith" card.

Never mind the fact that she has gone to church practically her entire life and has never, ever questioned god's existence, but her so-called "accepting" attitude of my atheism is so arrogant and patronizing, I'm not even sure it's worth talking about it with her.

Now my father is getting in on the fun, except he doesn't even try to hide under a mask of tolerance, he just goes straight for petty and trivial.

*insert something witty here*

cj
atheistRational VIP!
cj's picture
User is offlineOffline
Family...