newcomer

gerg
User is offlineOffline
newcomer

Hi everyone!  I'm very glad I found this place.  Anyways, a little about me and why I joined:

My name is Greg, from the US.  For those interested, specifically Wisconsin.  Education is in chemistry, but a web developer by trade (not quite sure how that crossover happened, but it did).

My "belief" background:  Raised as a Christian, but fortunately not overly religious -- attended church service once a week, though no real family pressure forcing me to do so (but at the time, I was certainly willing).  After moving out and starting to really think about things, I've pretty much settled on being agnostic...which I'm not entirely comfortable with.  Especially after reading the Agnostic or Atheist article!

I won't get into it here, but a big part of why I decided to register is I think I can probably get some insight here into some of my current thoughts, and whether they're entirely based in logic (my goal), or if some of my thought processes are still being affected by a lingering thread of hope that there really is a guy in the sky with a huge chocolate pie for me when I'm dead (my fear).