New to RRS

snug
User is offlineOffline
New to RRS

Hello,

I have just come across this site. I have noticed that all of the crime, war, hate, in this country is from religion. I think if we got rid of religion we would be a lot better of a society. So I am pretty sure I am in the right place here.

A little bit about myself. I am a recent veteran. I am currently living in up state NY while I go to school. Everything else I suppose will come up as I enjoy this site.

Thanks for the site guys,

SNUG

Philosophicus
Philosophicus's picture
User is offlineOffline

Welcome, snug.

Brian37
atheistSuperfan
Brian37's picture
User is offlineOffline
snug wrote:Hello, I have

snug wrote:

Hello,

I have just come across this site. I have noticed that all of the crime, war, hate, in this country is from religion. I think if we got rid of religion we would be a lot better of a society. So I am pretty sure I am in the right place here.

A little bit about myself. I am a recent veteran. I am currently living in up state NY while I go to school. Everything else I suppose will come up as I enjoy this site.

Thanks for the site guys,

SNUG

How would you "get rid" of religion? Via force of government? Stalin tried that, it only pushed it underground. When the Soviet Union went down, the religious that never left became vocal again.

We live on a planet of 7 billion. You even see within religion, divisions amoung sects.

We are atheists, but before we are atheists we are humans, part of the same evolution that produces the natural alpha male strive for power and control. It is a mistake for any human to think they are above evolution and nature.

I DO however, think we can work towards a more secular society where NO religion is given a pedestal or political monopoly. I think the best thing we can do is compete through the same open market of ideas with our ability to question ALL RELIGIONS and all superstitions and all absurd claims.