I don't believe in Atheism

Skepticus
atheist
Skepticus's picture
User is offlineOffline
I don't believe in Atheism

Greetings all.

While responding to one of Fonzie's posts, I realized that I don't believe in Atheism. Saying that somehow puts Atheism on the same level as religion, which I find unacceptable.

I'd rather say I state that there are no gods because science supports this statement.

What do you think?

Any comments and links welcome.

BTW, if my topic covers old ground, I apologize. I'm relatively new to Atheism and since joining the RSS forums, I realized I still had a lot to learn.

Thanks all.

Brian37
atheistSuperfan
Brian37's picture
User is offlineOffline
I've been active on atheist

I've been active on atheist boards for 10 years now. Believe me there is nothing new here. But it may be new to you.

Atheism is a religion like off is a tv channel. It is a position, nothing more. People can have a variety of reasons for saying "there is no god". I've met laymen atheists who hold the position but are not deep into study of theist arguments or science, those atheists I call easy pickings for slick snake oil theists.

I think if one is going to be more solid in their position, even outside the issue of religion on any topic, having a thorough study of the issue and a thorough study of the opposition's position give's one more solid ground to stand on.

Are there atheists who simply "believe" there is no god, yes. I would not call them well studied. The ones who study the history of religion and science don't have to merely believe, they have solid data to back up their position.

If one is going to debate theists you have to do it like one would play chess. You cant simply know what the pieces do, you have to know their strategy and have a strategy yourself.

"We are a nation of Christians and Muslims, Jews and Hindus -- and nonbelievers."Obama