Story of Job & the contradiciton of a kind & loving god.

Jack_Glass_1903
atheist
Jack_Glass_1903's picture
User is offlineOffline
Story of Job & the contradiciton of a kind & loving god.

Hi folks, I'm a newb, but a big time atheist and would especially like to know the thoughts of Christians (or anyone really) on what I feel is an example of a god abusing his power for amusement purposes.

In the book of Job, the character Job is a wealthy and religious man, blessed with children, wealth & land etc. One day it appears the devil tempts god into a bet against how faithful Job would be if all his belongings were taken away.

Apparently his kids are killed, 500 yoke of oxen & 500 donkeys carried off by Sabeans, 7000 sheep were burned up by 'The fire of God which fell from the sky,' 3000 camels were stolen by the Chaldeans and the house of the firstborn collapsed, due to a mighty wind. (Note: copied from wikipedia for quickness). Then the devil has a go at him and give him boils and whatever else he sees fit. I fail to see why destroying this mans life has done anything except appeal to a gods vanity.

My questions:

1. Why would a loving & caring god do this to his own creation, someone that has worshiped and loved him? This is beyond a test of faith, it's horrendous.

2. Did the devil tempt god and win? Maybe the devil thought, "i can't believe the big guy fell for that and abused one of his own".

3. Is god just a megalomaniac & bully who enjoys abusing the little people?

cj
atheistRational VIP!
cj's picture
User is offlineOffline
I vote for #3, malignant

I vote for #3, malignant thug.  But then, I'm not a theist.

Atheistextremist
atheist
Atheistextremist's picture
User is offlineOffline
Look