Stem Cells May Help Treat Mental Illness

Philosophicus
Philosophicus's picture
User is offlineOffline
Stem Cells May Help Treat Mental Illness

http://psychcentral.com/blog/archives/2006/10/26/stem-cells-may-help-treat-mental-illness/

This article is from Oct 26, 2006.  I probably should have dug a little deeper for updates on the study, or even the whole study.

Answers in Gene...
High Level Donor
Answers in Gene Simmons's picture
User is offlineOffline
 Indeed, you should dig

Indeed, you should dig deeper.

You don't post around here often, so you probably don't know that I have been a psychiatric social worker for the past 25 years. That site in known for fairly heavy handed political bias. Try rereading that article with a more skeptical and informed view and you will see that it gets in a dig on “the evil president who will not let us do whatever we want”. That comes off sounding like a four year old child being told no by mommy who then screams “fun spoiler!”

Actually, if you do some googling on the matter, you will see that a great many nations all banned or severely limited that type of research in the same general time frame. Pretty much the nation with the widest open door policy on that has been China but then, they don't have a great record as far as objective moral behavior goes.

Now, as to would the research actually work, who can say? In any case, it is irrelevant because during the time when the bans were on, researchers worked heavily on developing stem cell lines from adults which could be put to the same use. They have only had partial success on that as they have actually done it but at the price of activating cancer genes along the way. Still, they have done it.