Good Afternoon

Weston Bortner
atheist
Weston Bortner's picture
User is offlineOffline
Good Afternoon

I just realized that there was an introduction forum...

My name is Weston, and I am, indeed, an Atheist. (How do I get that blue label that some of you have?) I'm also an aspiring author. I used to be a Christian (or at least I would have called myself a Christan), but then I stopped going to church and went through a rough divorce between my parents, that involved my mother trying to turn us violently against my father. This isn't, despite contrary to popular belief, what drove me to atheism. I went to atheism simply because I stopped being exposed to religious belief and was taught at schools that weren't under fire to teach creationism or intelligent design. I eventually just stopped believing because I found religion to be ridiculous. How could there be a talking snake, a world flood, and all of this magical stuff at the time of Jesus Christ, but not now in the year 2011? What happened to these large miraculous events that happened so often in ancient times? Herodotus, a historian, reported that the temple of Delphi magically defended itself and that a tidal wave took out the Persians after they took down a statue of Posiedon. Does that mean that Zeus and them exist? Have we been horribly deluded this whole time and Christians and Atheists are both wrong? Why did these miraculous things (Herodotus also reported that an army of dead fish came back to life) happen so much in ancient times, but they seldom happen now? Did  they really exist? Did they really happen? Or is the entire thing based upon a mistake, to quote TGBaker.