Relation with Jesus

Weston Bortner
atheist
Weston Bortner's picture
User is offlineOffline
Relation with Jesus

Alright. One of the most common things said by Christians is that a personal relationship with Jesus trumps all evidence. Often people talk about how wonderful it is to talk about their relationship with the Christ himself. Most atheists would say that this is just their imagination. I agree, because I have experienced something very similar.

I'm an Author, and for many, many years I loved taking characters from TV shows and coming up with my own episodes in my mind. I would do this with TV show characters, video game characters, etc. Sometimes, I would have characters from different shows interact with each other. But as I grew older, the characters began to mature and develop different personalities than on television, and they grew into brand new characters of my own creation. I am now trying to write a novel with these characters, and I have now been able to create new people without borrowing from an original source. So I've had these characters all of my life and I cherish them greatly. (If this all sounds weird to you, my background would explain it)

I have a history of depression and self-loathing. My dad, a few nights ago, told me that I need to change the way I think. I need to, instead of thinking I can't, think I can. While in bed, I thought about this and eventually found myself arguing (mentally of course) with one of my characters. It wasn't a heated argument, but rather her calmly acting as a therapist as she listened to my rather pathetic attempts to convince myself that I couldn't do anything right. As I eventually listened to her, the other characters I had imagined came up and they, if no one else, were there for me.  Now, before you call me crazy, I am fully aware that none of them actually exist, and I don't make a habit of talking to them. I just feel that this is what happens with the character Jesus of Nazareth.