Watching Star Trek, any Atheist Trekkies out there

mindcore
BloggerScientist
mindcore's picture
User is offlineOffline
Watching Star Trek, any Atheist Trekkies out there

I am 31 years old. I am a former tattoo artist. I have sung in metal bands. I consider myself to be generally a hip guy. But I grew up watching Star Trek The Next Generation with my Dad, who is the first atheist in my life. My Dad has always treated truth like a bond that makes humanity work, and that for that to happen we have to resist bullshit. My Dad popped the Santa Clause bubble, and also (in his own gentle way) the God bubble. He also introduced me to his favorite character in this brilliant space operaa: Lt. Commander Data. 

I decided that I wanted to try to reconnect with this experience. I am really into Sci Fi movies and books, and I am even more into comic books. So I figured I might at least learn some sci fi canon. But it has really blown me away how much I love Star Trek. 

I think most people who watched it at least liked The Next Generation. 

So I will ask for everyone who reads this to please provide their favorite Star Trek character if you have one. 

Mine is hands down T'Pol from Enterprise! 

mellestad
User is offlineOffline
I'll get to this later, but

I'll get to this later, but I just have to say:

Everything makes more sense now that I've stopped believing.

Beyond Saving
atheist
Beyond Saving's picture
User is offlineOffline
 I'm a huge sci-fi fan. My

I'm a huge sci-fi fan. My favorite is the original series, I love the horrible special effects and that they were too damn stupid to put seat belts or harnesses on the chairs. I watched most of the Next Generation, DS9 and the first year or two of Voyager and then lost interest. Never watched Enterprise, kind of felt like the dead horse had been beaten enough.