gelligreen
User is offlineOffline

Jeffrick
High Level DonorRational VIP!SuperfanGold Member
Jeffrick's picture
User is offlineOffline
Gelligreen.

First off :  welcome to the forums.

Secondly :   What have you actually been charged with [ and what state] ?

Thirdly :  I know of meny well educated people on this site, I am an engineer,  But I don't know any lawyers on this site. Sorry!!

"Very funny Scotty; now beam down our clothes."

VEGETARIAN: Ancient Hindu word for "lousy hunter"

If man was formed from dirt, why is there still dirt?

cj
atheistRational VIP!
cj's picture
User is offlineOffline
More than 10 years ago, my

More than 10 years ago, my husband was witness to the aftermath of a traffic accident.

It was a busy state highway, four lanes of traffic.  A couple in their 80s, very elderly, made a left turn on to the highway directly in front of a semi truck.  The elderly couple did not live through it.  When my husband drove by, the road crew was cleaning up and the paramedics were talking to and monitoring the driver of the semi.  He was obviously very upset at hitting the elderly couple.

Was the semi driver a victim?  yes

Were the elderly people victims?  yes

Some days, it is better to stay home - too bad we never know which day that is in advance.

Who is legally designated what depends on state law.  I know here in Portland, OR there have been a number of pedestrian accidents - seems to be an awful lot lately where the pedestrian doesn't make it.  You are supposed to stop for pedestrians whether they are in the cross walk or not.  But if the pedestrian is wearing dark clothes, crossing the street when it is dark or when sight is obscured, sometimes you can't help hitting them.  I know if you hit an run you are in real trouble.  But I don't know if you are the driver and cooperate what the consequences are - now I have to go look it up -