Breaking the Matrix

Flubber
User is offlineOffline
Breaking the Matrix

Hello y'all, I am a high school freshman who has the misfortune of living in the Bible Belt.  I am trying to deconvert, but have a major roadblock that I'd like to get rid of in order to do so successfully.

When I was seven or eight years old, my grandmother took me to the book store and bought me my own bible.  It was written in simple English but it did not hold back on the delicious violence.  Excited to finally read the Bible, I went into my bedroom and started flipping pages.

I began at Genesis, and got through Adam+Eve story unscathed for the most part.  I was a bit afraid of the scary illustration of the serpent, but I read on.  Next was the story of Cain killing his brother Abel, a nice bloody story for all of the youngsters out there.  It got worse as it went on, talk of burning animal sacrifices, an evil picture of Cain, and so on until I finally got to the nitty gritty.  Cain got into a jealous fit of rage and bludgeoned his own brother.  The good book described the murder detail by detail, from the blood of Abel's that soaked the ground, to the wails of the dying boy, and it even had a nice picture of Abel as he lay dying. 

That was terrible.  I broke down in tears.  I ran straight to my mother in the next room.  I sobbed and I sobbed as my mother consoled me.  We agreed to save the book "until later".

If I had regarded that book as fiction, there would have been no further problem, but the "Bible" was really true.  That bloodshed really did happen.  God really was angry at me for someone else's errors.  I really was related to a murderer.

The seed was planted.