Hey Guys (I've been "lurking" for a while)

AvalonStorme
AvalonStorme's picture
User is offlineOffline
Hey Guys (I've been "lurking" for a while)

Hi all.

Though it sounds a bit creepy, I've been lurking and reading this forum for about a month or so.  I've found some very intersting discussions/debates that have made me think.  I guess I should say a tad bit about myself.

I'm a university student from the southern United States (Mississippi to be exact: the big, ugly buckle of the Bible belt).  I attend, ironically, a Christian university, for reasons other than their beliefs.

I spent my childhood attending church with my ultra-conservative Christian mother.  *Shudder."  In 11th grade, I went off to the Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science, which is a boarding school for intellectually gifted juniors and seniors.  It was there that I began to think for myself.

It wasn't until verrrry recently that I've begun to identify as an atheist.  I've read more articles and books, and watched more documentaries and videos than I can count; these things have allowed me to realize that it's okay not to believe in god, especially one as barbaric as the one my mother praises. 

I'm now a sophomore in college, pursuing a B.A. in English (with a concentration in writing) and an associate's degreee in psychology.  After graduation, I plan to attend law school in order to become an advocate for victim's of sexual assault and abuse.

Anyway, I suppose that's enough information at the moment, but I'm always open to questions

~Avalon Storme~

Yes, you have the right to believe what you'd like, as long as those beliefs do not revoke the rights of others.

Answers in Gene...
High Level Donor
Answers in Gene Simmons's picture
User is offlineOffline
 Welcome to the dark side.

Welcome to the dark side. We have dark chocolate, dark roast coffee dark beer and dark rum. Take your pick.

NoMoreCrazyPeople wrote:
Never ever did I say enything about free, I said "free."

=