Free Will

ssalvia
atheist
User is offlineOffline
Free Will

Hey guys,

I wanted to share my opinion of free will and possible issues with it. So heres what I've been thinking lately. I'm doing a PhD in Mathematics and Physics, and being involved in the scientific community you realise how fickle some ideas can be. I have a slight problem with the big bang theory as it is presented today. I suppose it boils down to the question of whether the Universe is a closed or open system. Assuming it is a closed system, implying that the universe is not interfered with by outside influences, then the big bang can be viewed as the only input to the system. This implies that if a closed universe was started elsewhere with the exact same big bang, then it makes sense to assume that it would propagate in exactly the same way as this universe. This means that free will is merely an illusion, and the fate of ourselves and our universe is determined. I suppose it boils down to determinism, but I feel a lot of determinism theories do not appreciate the scale of what I'm talking about. 

There is also an issue with quantum mechanics and uncertainties which give rise to probabilistic approaches. I feel that these are nothing more than human limitations. Anyway, I'd like to get your thoughts and ideas.

S.

robj101
atheist
robj101's picture
User is offlineOffline
Free will is a joke. It's

Free will is a joke. It's generally a last ditch effort by theists in an attempt to confuse the weak minded. You can say it exists or you can say it doesn't because it doesn't matter, it's a joke. It's as circular as can be.

Faith is the word but next to that snugged up closely "lie's" the want.
"By simple common sense I don't believe in god, in none."-Charlie Chaplin

ssalvia
atheist
User is offlineOffline
robj101 wrote:Free will is a

robj101 wrote: