Why I'm more than just annoyed, the progression of awareness.

Flier
User is offlineOffline
Why I'm more than just annoyed, the progression of awareness.

Hello,

I'm pretty new to non-believer type forums so I thought; what better way than to start off with an essay on why I'm angry.  A lot of it will be doubling up, I'm sure that all of it isn't original but I like to think that its good to vent in these types of areas.  Thanks for reading!

When I was 15 years old and sitting in science class, the teacher talked about evolution.  He showed several skulls of our ancestors showing a noticable progression between each skull in terms of development.  What he showed me seemed logical and seemed to be accepted by people who should've been in the know.  I accepted it.  I wasn't annoyed when my Christian friend crossed his arms and protested, just amazed.  What he did was harmless.

When I was 16 my girlfriend dumped me because God told her to in a dream.  I decided that she was a nut-case and that religion wasn't at fault.

When I was 18, my friend invited me to see Passion of the Christ.  I was annoyed at the director because it was a terrible film, but surely religion wasn't to blame.  This was an individual's creation, right?

When I was 21, my friend was told that she wasn't to hang out with me because I wasn't Christian.  I questioned my morals and wondered what it would be like to be in the loop.  I even asked myself whether I should fake it to be able to mix with this breed.  One thing undeniable about Christians seemed to be that they were wholesome people who banded together in a community and supported each other.  No swearing, no discrimination.  Most Churches I saw didn't seem extremist to me.