A slightly unpleasant occurrence

RatDog
atheist
User is offlineOffline
A slightly unpleasant occurrence

I'm not really good with girls.  I'm 29 years old and over my whole life I've only had two girlfriends, and both of those relationships only lasted a month.  Recently I was really hitting it off with this girl at work.  We really seemed to have a lot in common.  The only problem that I could see was that she referred to herself as strongly Christian.  I suppose at this point I should have mentioned that I was an atheist, but she didn't ask what I believed and I didn't volunteer.

I was thinking about asking her out today, but before I could she told me this story about her best friend of 7 years, and how people sometimes think that they are a couple(kind of random, I know).  She then proceeded to tell me that they weren't a couple because he reminded her of her brother who she claims is an ass, and because he was an atheist and that she wouldn't date an atheist.  

At this point my plan to ask her out went down the drain.  I suppose maybe at this point I should have said something about being an atheist, or at least made some kind of snazzy remark, but I'm not really quick at coming up with stuff like that so I said nothing.    

Later on she became annoyed with me.  She was changing the lining in a garbage can and the bag ripped.  She said the bag had it coming because it tried to grope her.  I said nothing at first not really sure how to respond, but after a seconded I said that it must have been a real dush bag.  This seemed to make her angry for some reason.   

I think that maybe she was trying to flirt with me and I didn't respond in the right way.  I really don't understand girl that well.  Is this experience the way I described it normal?  Were my responses to her appropriate?  Any other insight and advice on this matter would also be appreciated.   

Rich Woods
Rational VIP!
Rich Woods's picture
User is offlineOffline
Heya RatDog...First off, I