Another Texan Joins the Fold

RecklessHumor
RecklessHumor's picture
User is offlineOffline
Another Texan Joins the Fold

Greetings, fellow rational thinkers!  I'm an atheist from Texas (another one, apparently) and I'm happy to have found a place to commune with like-minded people.  As you can imagine, the atheist community in Texas, while it may be numerous, tends to be quiet.

A bit about me:  I was raised in the Church of Christ, though my parents were never strict about religion in our home and even encouraged free thinking.   I've always been a skeptic and advertised myself as an agnostic during High School and college, led primarily by my love of science and inability to consolidate what I knew about reality with what I was taught about god and religion.  I graduated to full-bore atheist soon after college, though I almost never shared that with friends and family.  Almost everyone I know is religious to some extent, and even now atheists make up one of the last groups that people are not ashamed to denigrate and judge.

I think the next step for me is to become more comfortable sharing my atheism with everyone, and possibly becoming more active as an American and Texan atheist since, frankly, the rise of fundamentalist religion as a political force in America frightens me.

I'm looking forward to being a part of the group!

Jeffrick
High Level DonorRational VIP!SuperfanGold Member
Jeffrick's picture
User is offlineOffline
Welcome

Yet another atheist in bible-belt Texas, who-ray y'all!!!  I'm in Toronto area of Canada, eh?  Do you ever watch the Atheist Experience pod cast out of Austin, every Sunday 4:30 to 6:00 CST?  What branch of science do you specialize in?

"Very funny Scotty; now beam down our clothes."

VEGETARIAN: Ancient Hindu word for "lousy hunter"

If man was formed from dirt, why is there still dirt?

robj101
atheist
robj101's picture
User is offlineOffline
We should start a club,

We should start a club, "rednecks in disbelief" or something.