Good day from Australia

x
Bronze Member
User is offlineOffline
Good day from Australia

Hello,

I reside in northern NSW, Australia and have been reading this site for some time. I have finally decided to register.

Some of the posters on here are very impressive, especially in regards to science and philosophy.

That, plus the humour and assertiveness, led me to choose this site.

Even though Australia is not an overtly religious country, there is ample authoritarianism, religion has a strong influence on politics and there is plenty to fight.

Very few politicians will admit to being non-believers and there have always been powerful religious lobby groups.

There is even a Creationist senator and to my amazement, Queensland has started teaching Creationism in schools.

I find it hard to believe that most Australians support this sort of nonsense, but I do have my doubts.

I have a reasonable understanding of science, but I am not a scientist.

My work background is IT.

Like others no doubt, I was initially reluctant to join as I wondered whether I'd have much to contribute.

There generally seems to be someone else who expresses roughly what I think, often with added pith and coherence.

However, the more people who support the site, the better, and there are bound to be times when I can make a useful contribution.

I feel genuinely encouraged by the recent rise of atheism and although I am not usually a joiner of groups, now seems to be a good time to make a contribution to society.

In fact, it all reminds me a little of the heady days of the late 70s.

I've been an atheist since I was a kid, though I can't remember exactly how old I was when I saw the light.

My background is a relatively liberal Catholic one and my suspicions about religion were aroused fairly early in primary school.

That'll do for now, but I'd like to add again that this site is doing great work.

robj101
atheist
robj101's picture
User is offlineOffline
I'm not the rocket scientist