Science books - particularly evolution

ex-minister
atheistHigh Level Moderator
ex-minister's picture
User is offlineOffline

I am new to the ACTUAL study of evolution after spending decades in fundamentalism. Working on ed-u-macating myself on evolution. I bought and read Jerry Coyne's excellent book Why Evolution is True. I even recently bought the audio version and will listen to it after I get enough of Hitchen's God is not Great audio. I also bought Richard Dawkins book The Greatest Show on Earth. Poking around Amazon it recommended the quite expensive book by Jan Sapp, The Evolution of Biology, which I purchased and now have started to read. I know the former two authors are quite respected but don't see Jan Sapp quoted or referenced. I did the "Google SEARCH this site" option here and the name didn't pop up. What is the opinion here on this author?

Please recommend any other favored books on the subject of evolution. Is there a book review section in RRS that I have missed?

You could even use this topic like the favorite web thread (kudos to Marquis for starting) as the favorite science thread. Name three of your favorite all time books on science.

Religion Kills !!!

Numbers 31:17-18 - Now kill all the boys. And kill every woman who has slept with a man, but save for yourselves every girl who has never slept with a man.

http://jesus-needs-money.blogspot.com/

Marquis
atheist
Marquis's picture
User is offlineOffline
Stephen Hawking - "A Brief

Stephen Hawking - "A Brief History Of Time"

James Gleick - "CHAOS"

Paul Davies - "About Time: Einstein's Unfinished Revolution"

"The idea of God is the sole wrong for which I cannot forgive mankind." (Alphonse Donatien De Sade)

http://www.kinkspace.com

atomicdogg34
atheist
atomicdogg34's picture
User is offlineOffline
the dawkins book and the

the dawkins book and the coyne book are fantastic starters

the back of the coyne book has a further reading list

bpwaddell
bpwaddell's picture
User is offlineOffline