Hello - an introduction

SapphireMind
SapphireMind's picture
User is offlineOffline
Hello - an introduction

I heard about the blasphemy challenge and got linked over here as well and decided to join up.

My name is Susan, I'm a registered nurse, on my way to becoming a neonatal nurse practitioner.  I've been "out" as an atheist for about a year, and have been openly (to myself) atheist for a couple more than that.  I was raised catholic and was a believer for a while.  The more I thought, the more I studied, the more I looked critically at the world, I realized that there was no god.  And on the off chance I'm wrong, I'll say straight out that he's an asshole and I want nothing to do with him. 

In my line of work, I see hundred of babies die.  Some of them after prolonged suffering.  Now, if you take the belief that god is omnipotent (as pretty much most western religions believe) then he would have the ability to prevent their suffering.  Some people say it is the devil or evil in this world that causes the suffering, to which I say "omnipotent - that means if he wanted it to stop, it would".  Some people say these babies are teaching people lessons, or they are bearing the punishment for evil their parents did.  Seriously?  And that's someone people would want to worship?  Someone who tortures babies as an object lesson to adults? 

So, with lack of any reason to believe in god, and many reasons to think that the world just is and there's no big imaginary friend answering football players' prayers, I am an atheist.  I believe that we are responsible for our own actions and how that impacts other people on this earth.  I am a pacifist.  I'm always striving to be the best person I can be, and that has nothing to do with god, just me wanting to be a force of good in the world and my society and family.