Introducing my self and wondering if God is wondering. And an anecdote from my youth.

and.one
and.one's picture
User is offlineOffline
Introducing my self and wondering if God is wondering. And an anecdote from my youth.

Hello.

My name Is André, I am around 30. I live in Sweden. Have never been religious but just recently started calling myself an atheist. I am new to the debates around religion. I never knew they were there really. Now I know. To be honest, we just don't have them much in Sweden because there is no Creationists around. At least not that I met or ever saw in some kind of media spotlight.

The YouTube channel "Dechha1981" was the first youtube channel of its kind that I subscribed to. It is still my favourite one. It was through him that I eventually ended up here.

I am skeptical by nature, I'm really not judgmental. I keep a fairly open mind and I am curious. I keep more to science than philosophy.

The first thing in my life that set me in to the scientific way of viewing the world is something my grandfather once told me. He had been walking on one island on the west coast of Sweden. These islands have hardly no vegetation, and no dirt on them. They are just rock. But they are softened by the weather and are called "barefoot islands" by us who live there.

Walking on the Island he saw a crack halfway down to the water on the steep rock. It was the smallest of cracks, he said. But from that crack there was a Birch growing. And my Grandfather thought that pretty damn amazing. A small Birch growing in that hostile little crack on the side of the cliff. Wind blowing, and the saltwater waves pounding just below it. He thought it very strange.