Did your 'coming out' hurt anyone?

HecticSkeptic
HecticSkeptic's picture
User is offlineOffline
Did your 'coming out' hurt anyone?

Hello, this is my first post on these forums, I am somewhat new to the skeptical movement so I thought I'd share one of my first dilemmas. Apologies if this is in the wrong place, I had a hard tiem trying to figure out which forum was best.

Like the title implies, did your coming 'out' as an atheist (or anything else would work too I guess) hurt anyone?

If so how did you deal with it?

Was (is) there anyone who you did not tell on purpose because of this?

Why I ask is, my in laws.

My wife comes from a VERY fundamentalist Lutheran farming family from the heart of Michigan (for those of you not familiar with this area, it is about as stereotypical as you can possibly get).

Now, I typically don't mind speaking my mind or having potentially incendiary conversations over Easter dinner. But, when this news breaks about us, they will 100% unequivocally think we are doomed to hell. And it will 100% unequivocally color every interaction we have with them.

Which considering we live in the South (another prime source of stereotypes about Americans) wouldn't be a problem.

However, her parents, especially her father, are really advancing in age. I am worried that this man (who really is a good man he just can't get past his 60+ years on indoctrination) is going to die thinking his youngest daughter is going to hell. I really do not want to be the source of that.

Should we come out? On the one hand I think an honest and open dialogue is healthy for relationships and the species as a whole. I think skepticism suffers when people do not want to discuss taboo subjects. If a member of my family were to be going through a radical change, whether or not I agreed with it, I would want to know and have a honest dialogue about it.