Way of the Master claims of "missing links", IE "Lucy was just an ape"

Vermilion
Vermilion's picture
User is offlineOffline
Way of the Master claims of "missing links", IE "Lucy was just an ape"

I just finished listening to the Ray Comfort show, Cheese and Rice, that guy is insane. Anyways, their 'Evolution' video on their site, which in several ways mis-defines evolutional processes, claims that there are NO fossil records of any transitional creatures between man and ape. Is this true?

I'm no scientist, but I remember reading about 'Lucy', who they claim was debunked as being just an ape... Can any speak on this, or provided references that this claim is wrong? Are there any fossil records of these transitional homonoids? (if that's the right term)

My assumption would be that there are, I would just like to see some references to them so that when people pull this argument out of their hat, I can refer to something...

thingy
SuperfanGold Member
thingy's picture
User is offlineOffline
Vermilion wrote:I just

Vermilion wrote:
I just finished listening to the Ray Comfort show, Cheese and Rice, that guy is insane. Anyways, their 'Evolution' video on their site, which in several ways mis-defines evolutional processes, claims that there are NO fossil records of any transitional creatures between man and ape. Is this true?

I'd have to watch for myself to get the context, so without the context my answer can only be "it depends".  If they want fossil records showing a transition from apes to man then no.  Both apes and man have a common ancester, but we did not evolve from apes so there is no fossil record showing as much.  However if it is a fossil record showing transitions of us going back up to the ancestor we have in common with apes then there's plenty.  Please forgive the wiki link, it was the quickest and easiest source for a list.

Organised religion is the ultimate form of blasphemy.
Censored and blacked out for internet access in ANZ!